Home, natural hair

Hello lovelies. I would like you to meet Ndeenda. She is taking over the ‘Pardon my fro’ segment. Ndeenda is a beautiful namibian natural. I hope you love reading what she has to say .

1. Introduce yourself. Why did you become natural? Did you big chop or transition?

My Name is Ndeenda Shivute, born breed Namibian. I was born in the great city of Windhoek. I am an artist/curator, I consider myself as a feminist.

It was around the2012/13, I had been experiencing a lot with my hair, dying it various colours and creating different hairstyle. I realized I wanted to go natural when I was in a salon getting my hair permed to get a natural hair texture when actually what I needed to do was let my own hair grow untreated or straightened.

So in 2013 on the  9th of July I went to my regular hair dresser and told her that I was done with putting up with the unbearable pain of having to wait for the chemicals in the relaxer to work to straighten my kinky 4c roots while burning my scalp. I told her to chop it all off.

It was soon to realize that when that scissor came chopping through my hair that, that was it. The big Chop.

2. How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for 3 years now.

3. What is/was your biggest hair challenge on your natural hair journey?

My biggest challenge will have to be the stage where my hair was too short to do a “wash and go”  but not long enough for a twist out or anything. I was almost ready to cut it off again.

This was coupled with  the fact hat my hair is 4C texture meaning its not that easy  to maintain. I could not comb it easily, I could not just let it be because the coils would form knots and break, so that was a real challenge getting to know my hair texture and how to deal with it.

4. What do you love most about being natural?

The best thing about being natural is the versatility that my hair has. I can blow it out and have it straight, I can roll it in and have it wavy and filled with big loose curls or I can just wash it and leave it and have a little afro.

The other thing is I remember when I was preparing for my matric dance, I was looking for inspiration on the internet of what I could do but back then all I could get was paper straight hair and hectic highlights and the only other inspiration was Alicia Keys and her beautiful patterns braids. But today there is so much more information and products that are tailored to my hair “black hair”.

I can walk into clicks and buy products that are jut for natural hair. Before all you got was a whole isle filled with products for caucasian hair and at the end of the isles you would find one or two shelves with the two variations of relaxers and their products.

It so nice to be able to find reviews on products, get advice on how to make your own products and blogs like yours especially from a local point, one can have an idea of things that are in your area.

5. What is your current hair regimen?

Well I wouldn’t call it much of a regime, I keep it really simple.

Sundays are my hair days. I start by detangling my hair with detangling lotion and then I co-wash mostly. I don’t really use shampoos.

It took me a while to find what works, I tried shampoos at the beginning but as my hair grew I realized that shampoos just stripped of way too much of my natural oils so my hair would be brittle and dry after washing.

After a co-wash my normal routine is to put on setting lotion and do a twist out for the week.

6. What are your staple/favourite products?

I am currently obsessed with Cantu. I just started using it and it’s amazing. My hair is health and happy. I also try and make my own hair mask once a month or every 6 weeks or so. The other lovely little product I found that has been saving my life is Aunty Jackies – knot on my watch. This detailing lotion is amazing, it makes my life so much easier when I need to braid my hair before bed and just maintaining hairstyles in general.

7. What is your go to hairstyle?

My easy go to hairstyle is a two strand twist. It used to be wash and go but I find that I have way too many knots to deal with after a wash and go.

8. Best natural hair tip for other naturals?

 My natural hair tip I would say is to keep your hair moisturized and don’t comb without wetting your hair or detangling.

And a healthy diet means healthy hair 🙂

9. Where can we find you online?

Well I am on:

Instagram @shomwatala

Twitter: Sho_Mwatala
Snapchat: Shomwatala

I use these three platforms to post whats latest with my natural hair journey and all things that I enjoy.

10. What would you like to see more of in the natural hair community in Namibia?

I would like to see some more Namibian Natural hair products, I heard of Ombeeke, I would love to try it out. Another thing is I would like to see listings of stylists that know how to deal with natural hair. I enjoy doing my hair but now and then I would like to have a choice to go to someone who I know knows how natural hair works with out worrying that my hair will be treated roughly. I know these people exist, I personally just don’t know where to find them.

Other than that I would also like that we all just enjoy our hair and enjoy each other. Sometimes you hear things like “ weaves are people pretending to have longer hair” and down grading weaves. But how people want to do protective styling, that’s their baby and we are all allowed to do as we please. In the end we all have our ways of dealing with our hair.

Lets just respect each other 🙂

Standard

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

