Home, natural hair

Hello lovelies,

I’m so excited for my next feature, mainly because this lady has absolutely gorgeous hair, and she is a fellow Namibian blogger (we have very few bloggers this side). Her curl pattern is popping and I’ve learnt through her interview that she has a bubbly personality. Well let me say no more, read more of her journey below.

1.Introduce yourself. Why did you become natural? Did you big chop or transition?

Hi, my name is Maggy.

I actually had no idea what natural meant. All I have ever known was relaxed hair and I thought that that’s how our hair is supposed to be. I saw in 2013 that my cousin was going natural. Thought nothing of it, until I saw her hair and how healthy her scalp and the strands of hair. I then decided to do research on this natural thing. Transitioned from November 2013 till the 22nd June 2014 when I got fed up of taking care of to textures and cut that ish off.

2.How long have you been natural?

I don’t know how to answer this though. Do I start from the BC or when I last relaxed my hair. Either way here goes:

Last relaxer was October 2013

Big Chop was 22 June 2014

So I think it’s been two years and 2 months or is it 2 years and 11 months … Bleh LOL I don’t know.

3.What is/was your biggest hair challenge on your natural hair journey?

Transitioning!!!!

That was the worst time of my life. I didn’t know how to take care of both textures. To top that off I was still learning how to take care of my natural hair, so there was a lot of trial and error. Also becoming a junkie was a problem. I had so many new things cause not everything worked for my hair. And YouTube made you want to try every freakin thing.

4.What do you love most about being natural?

The Volume!!!

I love the volume, I love that I have a curl pattern, I love the feel of my hair, I just love everything about it. Even though taking care of it can be a hassle, I would not have it any other way.

5.What is your current hair regimen?

Shoot, I don’t really have a specific regimen that I follow. It depends on what my hair needs that time. Let me just tell yall what must be done every wash day

 Apple Cider Vinegar wash

Condition

Deep Condition

Condition again

Oil rinse

The next depends on the style that I want.

6.What are your staple/favourite products?

Apple Cider Vinegar

Tresseme Condtioner (Any that I can find)

Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Argon Oil

Dark n Lovely Mask

Dark n Lovely Moisturizing lotion

Organic “something” leave in conditioner

7.What is your go to hairstyle?

Puff or Twist out

Pew Pew 100%

8.Best natural hair tip for other naturals?

Natural hair is very dry, so you need tons of moisture. Trust me the hair is only difficult if it is dry. You fix the dryness, you fix everything.

9.Where can we find you online?

http://www.hermajestym.wordpress.com

Hermajesty_m                  Instagram

HerMajesty_M                 Facebook (Like my page)

Maggymaggz07                 Twitter

10.What would you like to see more of in the natural hair community in Namibia?

Hmmm … I’m pretty much proud of what is going on with our Natural hair community right now. We have expo’s, product launches, get-togethers and more. Our own Namibians are making their own products. Soon we wont be needing dem Shea Moisture imports anymore. I cant wait for that beautiful day.

Standard

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

